WWOOF Mexico

Braydon
  • Male
  • United States

Braydon's Contacts

  • sonia prince
  • Roberto Lepe
  • Kippy Nigh
 

Braydon's Page

Profile Information

What is your previous experience with Organic Agriculture and Sustainable Development?
Treeplanting, Camp Setup, Digging (trenches and holes), Clipping Plants, Native Craft, Beach Maintenance, Rewilding, Botany, Biology Interests: Aquaponics, Cabin Building, Making Structures, Animal Husbandry (Goats, Cows, Pig, Rabbits, Bees, Sheep, Ox, Boar, Hens, Horses), Straw Bale Building, Deep Sea Fishing, Gathering Animal Medicines, Foraging, Mining, Habitat Making, Hunting, Scything, Cider Making, Forest Garden, Medicine Garden, Making Dairy Products, Shearing, Suckling Grapevines, Thinning Peach and Nectarine Trees, Building (sweat lodge), Clearing Land, Deer Fence Removal, Woodwork, Making timber walls, Stone wall building, Painting Cabins, Ox Ploughing, Making and Installing a Greenhouse Water System, Identifying Seeds and Edibles, Making Cheese and Yogurt from Goat Milk, Making soil using kelp, aquafauna, and manure
What are your reasons for joining WWOOF Mexico?
Learning about sustainable living and agriculture, Getting to know Mexico better, Other
What do you want the farms and fellow WWOOFers to know about you?
I consider myself to have quite a wild personality, I do find my place with the same kind of work my ancestors did. Gardening, foraging, learning bushcraft, farming, and tending to animals. I am also a treeplanter of 3 years. I am very fond of outdoor lifestyle such as what farming or WWOOFing offers, the very intimate experiences and relevant knowledge to be gained from it which I can not find in the city.

¡Hola!
I'm traveling down to Mexico around mid-late October, and looking for a fitting place to put my hands to work, especially those done by the indigenous Mexican peoples. And further to find a region in Mexico that is inspiring to explore. I travel with my backpack and have been on the road for 17 months, and usually live outside.

All ancient and traditional work appeals to me, as well as learning the cultural heritage of the Spanish ancestors, Aztec, Toltec, and other Meso American folk.

Work that does not allure me is non-relevant for volunteering such as weeding (I must keep my back strong for treeplanting, which is where I earn all my money), mucking out pens unless I am directly tending to the animals, and activities that harm the earth like cutting live trees, spraying chemicals on plants, or monoculture.

 I am interested to learn some rough Spanish, whilst staying in Mexico, enough to carry a simple conversation while in the towns or on the road. The old musics of Meso American also find a place in my heart, and would enjoy learning some of the archaic instruments.

Braydon's Photos

Messages Box (4 messages)

At 2:23pm on October 14, 2015, Roberto Lepe said…

yES. you are wellcome. Please write: robertolepe@gmail.com  I check this mail more ofen.  Thanks, R.

At 7:23pm on October 15, 2015, Braydon said…

Muchos Gracias, I wrote to your mail tonight.

At 2:26pm on January 6, 2016, Ben James Slatky said…

Hi Braydon,

I'm considering working at the coffee farm in San Juan Lachao. It looks like you were as well. I was wondering if you ended up visiting the farm, and, if so, how was your experience?

Thanks,

Ben Slatky

At 5:00pm on January 6, 2016, Braydon said…

It is a pleasant place, but just don't expect very nutritious foods. I was with two Danes and we ate mostly maize, beans, rice, and some fruit. The experiene is invaluable however if you are intrigued by coffee as much as I am.

You need to be following WWOOF Mexico to send them a message.

Join WWOOF Mexico

 
 
 

© 2019   Created by WWOOF Mexico.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service