WWOOF Mexico

Farm in El Gato, Baja California, Mexico


Farm in El Gato, Baja California, Mexico

 Hacienda El Capricho
- Luis Alberto Ortiz Navarro
- luisbetoortiz@yahoo.com
- The phone is from San Diego, CA but the farm is in Mexico   (619) 254 6730
-  Address: Calle Camino real #1, 22701 El Gato, B.C., Mexico
Farm description:
Hacienda El Capricho is located in the mountains of Baja California. Hacienda El Capricho is meant to be a place of relaxation and serenity. It also serves as an eco-friendly hotel and sometimes weddings and events are being held there. It is 4 hectareas (10 acres) big. I started a very small farm, but would like to plant fruit tress and vegetables from the region. By being there you will be involve in feeding the horses (2), feeding the chickens (about 20) and ducks about (5). Your primary duty will be to help and advice with the garden (we do not have experience in gardens)Probably  to make compost from the horses, plant trees, vegetables, and to clean the hacienda. There may be a little of painting and construction. You do not have to participate if there is construction if you do not want to. But activities to beautified the Hacienda such as decoration is a must. They may be a day that the hacienda gets all rented or in part from Airbnb. We will find you another room than usual or use a tent for that specific night if necessary.
Hacienda El Capricho is a magical place. We are 30min away from the nearest town (Primo Tapia and Rosarito). You will not be alone, there is a 65 old man with his wife, very friendly and kind people. I'm a high school teacher, so I may be there during the weekends and once a week just to double check that everything is ok. During my vacation I may be there a few days or so. You may see pictures of the hacienda in facebook or in our web page www.haciendaelcaprichobaja.com ;
Perhaps the only two rules will be to bring a good attitude and to be able to help, also to be respectful of our clients if  it gets rented while you are there. Clients and very important for the Hacienda and we need to respect their privacy. If you want to have a tested from nature, learn about the Baja and help to make this place a beautiful place and to help nature have a love for animals this is the place. 
The maximum stay could be two weeks, if you would like more time we can talk about it and see how it goes.
Please let us know what you would like to eat, together we can work on different menus and go from there. 

Name: Farm in El Gato, Baja California, Mexico
Members: 12
Latest Activity: Oct 6, 2018

Discussion Forum

This farm does not have any discussions yet.


Comment by julie noel on September 7, 2017 at 9:09am


I'm from Canada. I travel with my husband, our son (13 years old) and our dog. We are very interested to work at your place, It will be a nice experience for our family. We will be in Baja California, probably in the beginning of november...

We don't need a place to stay, because we travelling in a RV.

We look forwards to hearing from you.

Best regards.

Julie, Yannick, Gabriel and Dex. 

Comment by Pitzer Wwoofers on October 19, 2017 at 4:32pm

Hola! Me llamo Olivia, estoy super interesada de trabajar en tu granja! Te envio un correo electronica, por favor, si estan interesados de tener trabajo diciembre-enero, respóndeme! Muchos gracias, Olivia

Comment by Jill Flaningam Miller on May 11, 2018 at 3:51pm


Your place looks like heaven! :) Last month I was fortunate to spend a few weeks on a ranchito close to the Valle de Guadalupe and I am anxious to return to Baja Norte this summer if possible. (My start and end dates are not rigid.) Please see my WWOOF USA profile in addition to the WWOOF Mexico bio: https://wwoofusa.org/wwoofer/jillmill/. I would love to help with the chickens, horses, garden and - of course - any guests. 

I look forward to connecting with you soon. Thanks!


Comment by Gabrielle Pelletier on July 8, 2018 at 9:53pm

Saludos a Ustedes,

Somos una jovena pareja viajando desde Montreal. Los escribimos hoy porque estamos muy interesados a voluntar en su finca y queriamos saber si seria possible. Nos vamos de Montreal en auto el 15 de julio et deberíamos llegar a Mexico por agosto. Planeamos de viajar atrás de todo el Mexico y todavía no sabemos exactamente nuestras destinaciones y horario porque ahora mismo estamos planeando cual fincas vamos a visitar y cuando visitarlas. Habiendo viajado mucho en el pasado, hemos adquirido bastante conocimiento en muchos dominios, particularmente en el tema de la permacultura. Su filosofía y metodología son excelentes ejemplos de cómo la agricultura puede ser regenerativa en lugar de destructiva, como eso debería ser en la naturaleza. Esto dicho, estamos muy implicados en el descubrimiento de la verdadera sostenibilidad para la humanidad, así como en la comprensión de la salud y la vitalidad de una manera holística. Ambos somos fruitarianos, nuestra dieta consiste en frutas y hierbas. Tenemos una linda perra llamada Juniper que es amable y bien elevada. Poseemos todos los elementos esenciales para acampar, por lo que somos bastante autosuficientes, aunque el acceso a una cocina y un lugar seguro para dormir es muy apreciado. ¡Ambos somos músicos que disfrutamos la gente de mente abierta y con buenas vibras! Somos tranquilos y relajados, pero sabemos cómo trabajar duro y hacer las cosas bien. Nuestra salud es de gran importancia para nosotros, así que no fumamos ni bebemos ningún estupefaciente, estamos bien feliz respirando aire y tomando jugos de frutas. También disfrutamos de despertarnos y dormirnos con el ciclo solar. Hablamos francés, ingles y español muy bien.

Por favor, háganos saber si está interesado en que nos vayamos a quedar y trabajar en su hermosa granja y, si están de acuerdo, cuándo sería mejor que nos tenga y por cuánto tiempo. Estamos ansiosos por saber de usted.
Paz y amor,

Mateo y Gabriela 

Greetings and salutations,

We are a travelling young couple from Montreal. We are writing to you today because we are strongly interested in volunteering on your farm and would like to know if this could be a possibility. We are leaving Montreal by car on the 15th of July and should arrive in Mexico by August. We plan on travelling all across Mexico however our destinations and time frames are yet to be determined since we are currently planning on which farms to visit and when to visit them. Having travelled a lot in the past, we have acquired quite some knowledge in many domains, particularly in the field of permaculture. Its philosophy and methodology are great examples of how agriculture can be regenerative instead of destructive, as it was intended by Nature. This being said we are very much implicated in discovering true sustainability for humanity as well as understanding health and vitality in a holistic way. We are both fruitarians, our diet consists of fruits and herbs. We have a cute dog named Juniper that is friendly and well-trained. We possess all the essentials for camping so we are pretty self-reliant although access to a kitchen and a safe place to sleep is very much appreciated. We are both musicians who enjoy open-minded people and good vibes! We are easy going and laid back but we know how to work hard and get things done. Our health is of major importance to us so we do not smoke or drink any intoxicants, we are high on life. We also enjoy waking and falling asleep with the solar cycle. We speak French, English and Spanish very fluently.

Please let us know if you are interested in having us over to stay and work on your beautiful farm and if so when would be best for you to have us and for how long. We are very much looking forward to hearing from you.
Peace and Love,
Mathieu and Gabrielle.

Comment by Garret Ray Holbrook on October 6, 2018 at 3:51pm


My name is Ray, I’m 25 years old and male. Currently, I am cycling through Mexico with the intent of learning about Latin culture and to hopefully gain some Spanish speaking skills. I recently graduated with my undergraduate degree in Biology. I would ideally like to stay for a month. My experience ranges from janitorial and agricultural work to child care. If you would like to know more about me please feel free to email back. I will likely be in the area on the 11th or 12 of this month.

Thanks for your time!



You need to be following Farm in El Gato, Baja California, Mexico to send them a message.


Members (12)


© 2019   Created by WWOOF Mexico.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service