WWOOF Mexico

Joseph Newton
  • Male
  • Jamaica, NY
  • United States
  • Blog Posts
  • Farms (2)
  • Photos
  • Photo Albums

Joseph Newton's Farms

 

Joseph Newton's Page

Profile Information

What is your previous experience with Organic Agriculture and Sustainable Development?
My first experience with growing organic food began in the earliest days of my childhood growing up in Maine USA, where my family had a garden plot on our 1.5 acres of land. I was always busy in the garden as a child, caring for the plants and spending time there with my family. As an adult, I have worked with various nonprofit organizations in New York City, including City Harvest and the Queens Farm Museum, and most recently with WWOOF USA in Northern California. I’m experienced in planting, harvesting, building planters, weeding, pruning, fertilizing, trellising, digging swales, water systems, and composting, among other things. I'm able-bodied and can perform heavy lifting. I really enjoy cooking with fresh ingredients. Ask me about my vegan chili and mango salsa fish empanadas : ). I enjoy the company of others, especially when it comes to cooking. I’m skilled in working with others in groups and I’m organized in working by myself. I enjoy playing hand drums, especially the Djembe, and outdoor sports, especially trail running. I’m new to WWOOFing, but so far it’s been great, and I look forward to continuing it while I travel.
What are your reasons for joining WWOOF Mexico?
Learning about sustainable living and agriculture, Getting to know Mexico better, Other
What do you want the farms and fellow WWOOFers to know about you?
I'm an easy going person, approachable, open and respectful. I get along with lots of different personalities and I really enjoy meeting new people. I've spent the last 2 months traveling across the United States with a friend and getting to know the land and people of this country, which has been an incredible experience. Right now I am working on a farm in Northern California, soon to be working on a permaculture project in Southern California, and eventually bicycling south through Baja, California en route to who knows where. I love traveling and have visited 4 continents in my life. In my free time, I like to be outside in nature with family and friends. I am excited to learn more about organic farming, sustainable development, and ways to improve this world we share.

MESSAGES box

  • No comments yet!

You need to be following WWOOF Mexico to send them a message.

Join WWOOF Mexico

 
 
 

© 2018   Created by WWOOF Mexico.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service